teacher appreciation 300MUHLENBERG COUNTY, Ky. (9/26/13) – The Kentucky Department of Education and Ashland Inc. have selected 24 outstanding Kentucky educators as recipients of the 2014 Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards (TAA), one of which was a Muhlenberg North Middle School teacher, Kelly Melton.
Melton, along with the rest of the winning teachers, qualifies to compete for the 2014 Kentucky Teacher of the Year Award, which will be announced next month.
The 24 winning teachers, listed by school district, are:
•Muhlenberg County – Kelly D. Melton, Muhlenberg North Middle
•Bracken County – Robin Rath-Fultz, Taylor Elementary
•Carter County – Beverly McDavid, West Carter Middle
•Elizabethtown Independent – Derisa Hindle, Talton K. Stone Middle
•Fayette County – Cynthia L. Brown, Lexington Traditional Magnet
•Fayette County – Scot A. Gill, Tates Creek High
•Fayette County – Melanie Trowel, Carter G. Woodson Academy
•Fayette County – Catherine Vannatter, Bryan Station High
•Floyd County – Cortney H. Flannery, Betsy Layne High
•Floyd County – Amanda Lee, May Valley Elementary
•Hardin County – Kathy S. Thompson, Central Hardin High
•Jefferson County – Rita Cron, Atherton High
•Jefferson County – Angela Pleasant, James E. Farmer Elementary
•Jessamine County – Shawn Carlstedt, Rosenwald Dunbar Elementary
•Lincoln County – Joanna H. Stevens, Lincoln County High
•Madison County – LenaKay E. Wilson, Mayfield Elementary
•Menifee County – Lana Swartz, Menifee County High
•Murray Independent – Holly Bloodworth, Murray Elementary
•Pendleton County – Michelle W. Lustenberg, Phillip A. Sharp Middle
•Oldham County – Craig Grimm, North Oldham High
•Oldham County – Gina Weber, Crestwood Elementary
•Scott County – Willow Hambrick, Royal Spring Middle
•Simpson County – Sharon S. Smith, Franklin Elementary
•Taylor County – Jessica McCubbin, Taylor County Middle
Melton and the other teachers will be honored at a ceremony in Frankfort on October 16 in the State Capitol Building.
Governor Steve Beshear, Education and Workforce Secretary Thomas Zawacki, Education Commissioner Terry Holliday and Ashland’s Chairman and CEO Jim O’Brien will be present to honor the teachers and to recognize the Kentucky Elementary, Middle and High School Teachers of the Year. From this group of three finalists, the Kentucky Teacher of the Year will be named and will represent the state in the National Teacher of the Year competition.
Ashland will present the 24 TAA recipients with cash awards and certificates at the awards ceremony. In addition to cash awards, the three Kentucky Teachers of the Year also will receive custom-designed glassware commemorating their accomplishments, and all 24 educators will be honored at a special luncheon after the ceremony.
The Kentucky Teacher Awards program combines the best elements of the Ashland Inc. Teacher Achievement Awards and the Kentucky Teacher of the Year programs. This marks the 13th year the Department of Education and Ashland have partnered to honored Kentucky educators.
Judging was conducted in August by a blue-ribbon panel of veteran educators, many of whom have more than 25 years of teaching experience. Applications included information on the nominees’ teaching philosophies, teaching experiences and involvement in their respective communities, as well as letters of recommendation from peers, students, parents, administrators and others.
Ashland has recognized outstanding Kentucky teachers with its Teacher Achievement Awards since 1988. Approximately $685,000 has been awarded to 450 teachers of grades K to 12.
SurfKY News
Information provided by Rebecca Blessing

LIKE SurfKY on Facebook - Click here to LIKE us now.

© Copyright 2015 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission. SurfKY News encourages you to share this story on social media.

Posted on 2/2/14
3/13 - 16
1 DOW 17,976.31
+263.65 (1.49%)    
2 S&P 2,086.24
+25.22 (1.22%)    
3 NASDAQ 4,947.44
+56.22 (1.15%)    
3/13 - 16

Most Read This Week

March 27, 2015 5936

Three Arrested during Execution of Search…

by Madisonville Police Department/Hopkins County Detention Center
March 25, 2015 5449

Fazoli's, Roses Coming to Madisonville

by Amber Averitt, SurfKY News
March 24, 2015 5201

One Dies, Another Injured in Mortons Gap Traffic…

by Deputy Heath Owens
March 25, 2015 5134

Grand Jury Finds No Criminal Wrongdoing in Bean…

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News
March 24, 2015 4296

UPDATE: One Injured in Hopkinsville Road Accident

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News
March 25, 2015 4142

Madisonville Man's Living Room Leap Lands Him in…

by Madisonville Police Department / Hopkins County Detention Center

Most Read This Month

March 09, 2015 13908

Multi-Agency Drug Bust Results in $1 Million Meth…

March 02, 2015 11646

Madisonville Teen Faces Numerous Drug Charges

by Madisonville Police Department/Hopkins County Detention Center

Stories Trending Today

March 30, 2015 3657

Man Charged with Child Abuse After Allegedly…

by Madisonville Police Department
March 30, 2015 2250

Juvenile Arrested for Cruelty to Animals

by Hopkins County Sheriff's Office
March 30, 2015 2018

Two Charged in Bremen Meth Bust

by Sheriff Curtis McGehee
March 30, 2015 1870

Man Charged for Selling Drugs from Red Cardinal…

by Madisonville Police Department
March 30, 2015 1612

Report of Suspicious Man Ends with PI, Meth…

by Madisonville Police Department
March 29, 2015 1276

Huge Turnout Joins to Support Shanice Bean Family

by Tammy Holloway, SurfKY News
March 29, 2015 1138

Should Inactivity be Classified as a Disease?

by Mallory Powell
March 30, 2015 991

Madisonville Police Arrest Reports - March 30,…

by Madisonville Police Department
March 29, 2015 934

Covenant Community Church Hosts Annual…

by Tammy Holloway, SurfKY News
March 29, 2015 866

North American Stainless to Make $150 Million…

by Office of the Governor