KSP Class 95 LW518

FRANKFORT, Ky. (8/11/17) — Kentucky State Police Academy presented diplomas to 41 new troopers at ceremonies held in Frankfort today, KSP announced. Their addition to the force brings the agency’s strength to a total of 866 troopers serving the citizens of the commonwealth.

KSP Commissioner Rick Sanders said the addition of these newly-graduated troopers will help with the current strength, but does not come close to resolving the agency’s shortage of personnel.

“Like other police agencies, we have been challenged with maintaining our strength of active officers in light of retirements and attrition,” Sanders said. “In 2000, the agency manpower was more than 1,000. Yet, we are doing more today with fewer personnel and resources than we had back then. To add to this dilemma, we are servicing a higher population while seeing new crime that we didn’t have in the past such as human trafficking, electronic sexual exploitation of children and the potential threat of terrorism.” 

Sanders went on to say that “the role of law enforcement has developed exponentially to meet the needs of an ever-changing society, and KSP is a significantly more specialized agency compared to the past. With more troopers working in specialized capacities that means fewer troopers available to respond to calls for service.”

The new troopers are part of the agency’s 95th cadet class, which was the agency’s fourth Law Enforcement Accelerated Program (LEAP), a condensed course for current officers who have two years of Kentucky Police Officer Professional Standards law enforcement experience.

They reported for duty on May 21, 2016 in a class that consisted of 63 cadets. Twenty-two resigned during the program.

The training included more than 500 hours of classroom and field study in subjects such as constitutional law, juvenile and traffic law, use of force, weapons training, defensive tactics, first aid, high speed vehicle pursuit, criminal investigations, computer literacy, hostage negotiations, evidence collection, radio procedures, search and seizure, crash investigation, drug identification, traffic control, crowd control, armed robbery response, land navigation, electronic crimes, sex crimes, hate crimes, domestic violence, bomb threats and hazardous materials.

Several members of the class earned special recognitions including valedictorian Matt Parmley of Monticello and salutatorian Jerry Baker of Viper.

Clayton Ellis of Elizabethtown received the Ernie Bivens Award, an honor presented to the cadet who, in the opinion of the KSP Academy staff supported by input from the cadets themselves, shows distinction as a class leader, strives for academic excellence and has excelled in all phases of the academy’s physical and vocational training. 

Justin Flannery of Hazel Green received the Commissioner’s Commitment to Excellence Award, which is presented to cadets who demonstrate leadership, the desire to get the job done and the determination to be the best every day.

The following is a list of the new troopers, their duty assignments and their hometowns or residences:


Jay D. Dunn, Mayfield

James B. Luckett, Louisville



Richard Hunter Carroll, Hopkinsville



Joseph O. Beasley, Leitchfield

Richard C. Ellis, Elizabethtown

Tyler K. Lynch, Big Spring



Neal M. Barnes, Richmond

Casey Y. Caudill, Winchester

Toney R. Dollins, Jr., Crab Orchard

Jack E. Lakes, Annville

Joshua S. Roaden, Berea

Carl B. Roark, Richmond

Jacob R. Shepherd, Lancaster

Adam R.G. Short, Mt. Vernon



Justin A. Flannery, Hazel Green

Christopher H. Ingram, Ewing

Justin T. Reynolds, Florence

Kyler B. Wright, Morehead



Billy E. Holbrook, Paintsville

Darvin E. Marsillett, Auxier



Sidney K. Wagner, Corbin

Michael A. Wilson, London



Shawn M. Boroviak, London

Keegan T. Bray, Somerset

Adam Cole Dodson, Monticello

Jordan P. Hopkins, London

Matthew Kyle Parmley, Monticello

Travis Lane Thompson, Somerset

Seath A. Whiles, Somerset

Logan T. Wolfe, Manchester



Bradley S. Gillock, Morehead

Andrew W. Lee, Lebanon

William C. Spears, Lawrenceburg



William W. Adams, Whitesburg

Jerry A. Baker, Hazard

Wilson G. Jones, Hazard



Dexter B. Colvin, Campbellsville

Ricky E. Cross, Edmonton

Daniel S. Forbis, Campbellsville

Allen D. Shirley, Columbia



Shaun R. Schroader, Philpot


Each new trooper will be supervised by a training officer for six to eight weeks after reporting to their post assignments.

SurfKY News
Information provided by Trooper Sean Wint, Post 2 Public Information Officer

sitelogosm© Copyright 2008 - 2017 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission.

Click here to subscribe to receive daily updates by email.

Most Read This Week

Nov 20, 2017 6341

UPDATE: Missing Hopkins Man Found

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News
Nov 21, 2017 6009

Four Women Injured in Henderson Collision

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News
Nov 21, 2017 4431

Henderson Police Charge Woman in Crash with DUI

by SurfKY News

Most Read This Month

Weather brought to you by

°F | °C
Mostly Cloudy
Humidity: 67%
Mostly Sunny
29 | 42
-1 | 5
Mostly Sunny
28 | 50
-2 | 10
Mostly Sunny
33 | 57
0 | 13
Mostly Sunny
40 | 55
4 | 12

Stories Trending Today

Barber 11 20
Nov 20, 2017 23780

UPDATE: Arrest Made in Connection to Madisonville Armed Robbery

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News
DSC 1324
Nov 20, 2017 18803

UPDATE: EF-1 Tornado Damages Property on Ky. 181 Near Bremen

by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
May 2018 primary muhl
Nov 20, 2017 13220

UPDATE: More Candidates File for 2018 May Primary in Muhlenberg County

by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
Downs 11 20 copy
Nov 20, 2017 6341

UPDATE: Missing Hopkins Man Found

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News

Market Report

Market Report brought to you by