Pick Your Community: | Hopkins | Muhlenberg | Daviess | Christian | Henderson | Lakes | McCracken | Webster

Tradewater Pirates are Officially a Madisonville Team

tradewater basewithglove 300MADISONVILLE, KY (1/18/11) - It is OFFICIAL!  The Tradewater Pirates are now The Madisonville Tradewater Pirates.  

The Madisonville City Council approved the lease agreement with team owners and the City this afternoon!  

City Administrator, Mike Franklin, said the one year lease is “bittersweet” .  He said he was excited for Madisonville but sad for Dawson Springs.  Franklin pointed out that the organization folded in Dawson and was looking for a home.
Pirates Business Manager, David Massamore, addressed the Council and said “The Pirate Family says Thank You.  This is a wonderful investment for the community.”  Massamore went on to announce that a group of businessmen and women have formed a corporation and they are selling shareholder stock for people that want to be a part of the corporation.  The stock price is $250 per share as previously reported on SurfKY News.

Team Head Coach, Steve Fowler, also owns the franchise.  He said that moving the team to Madisonville was “Like Coming Home”.  Fowler said that when the team was originally formed it was going to be in Madisonville; but, Dawson Springs had the new stadium and it looked like that was the better location.

Fowler said that consideration was given to changing the name since they would no longer playing at Riverside Stadium on the bank of the Tradewater River.  The name change was abandoned because “We have name recognition” Fowler said.  

Fowler said that the team would need host families from May 28th until August 1st. Host families take a player in for the summer providing a place to sleep and access to a washing machine.  Persons wishing to host a player can contact Fowler at This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it or by cell at 270-875-6888.

In other business the Council approved an agreement with Pyrotechnic Display, Inc. for the Fourth of July fireworks display.  The 2011 Fourth of July celebration proved to be a huge success.  This year the agreement was passed without dissent as was the case last year.  

Longevity pins were awarded to:  Billy H. Smith – 5 years; Leslie Curneal – 5 years; Bonnie Clyde – 5 years; Sarah Ford – 5 years; Gregory Leslie Brasher – 20 years; Dennis Lee Hart – 20 years; Michael Fuller – 5 years; and, Bradley Skeen – 10 years.

Ron Sanders
SurfKy News

© Copyright 2015 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission. SurfKY News encourages you to share this story by using one of the social media links below.

3/13 - 16
button coupons

Stock Report

1 DOW 17,672.60
-141.38 (-0.79%)    
2 S&P 2,051.82
-11.33 (-0.55%)    
3 NASDAQ 4,757.88
+7.48 (0.16%)    
3/13 - 16
3/13 - 16
button classifieds

In Other News...

Wade Retires from Murray-Calloway County Hospital after 44 Years of Service

MURRAY, Ky. (1/24/15) — When Kathy Wade started at Murray-Calloway County Hospital as a switchboard operator in 1970,… Read More

Juvenile Hit by Vehicle at McDonald's

GREENVILLE, Ky. (1/25/15) ― A juvenile was struck by a vehicle at the Greenville McDonald’s restaurant today, Jan. 25.… Read More
3/13 - 16

Most Read This Week

January 19, 2015 9066

Two-Year-Old Child Dies after Being Struck by…

in Top News For All Sites by Paul Ray
January 19, 2015 8934

UPDATE - Lady Mustangs Fall to South Warren

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Steve LeMaster
January 23, 2015 7776

Local Church's Faith Restored; 71 Souls Saved…

in Video by Gary Gates, SurfKY News
January 22, 2015 6852

Nortonville Man Accused of Selling Drugs near…

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Madisonville Police Department/Hopkins County Jail
January 20, 2015 6751

Bridal, Prom, Pageant Expo Planned for February…

in Hopkins News by Dana Brown
January 23, 2015 5443

Parents Face Charges after Marijuana Joint Falls…

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Madisonville Police Department/Hopkins County Jail
January 21, 2015 5384

KYDOT Pre-Treating Roads Thursday in Antipation…

in Top News For All Sites by Keith Todd
January 22, 2015 4864

MCEA Head: Further School Mergers Might Ease…

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Paul McRee, SurfKY News
January 21, 2015 4726

Man Arrested after Allegedly Nodding off on Baby…

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Madisonville Police Department/Hopkins County Jail
January 18, 2015 4430

Single Vehicle Injury Collision On Cleaton Road

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Stu Recke, KSP

Stories Trending Today

January 25, 2015 2953

Dean’s List Announced

in Top News For All Sites Touching Hopkins by Joyce Riggs
January 23, 2015 2396

School Board Hears Public Comments Regarding…

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Charles W. Riley II, SurfKY News
January 24, 2015 1965

Five Injured in Two-Vehicle Collision

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Chris E. King
January 24, 2015 1639

PSC Bars $54 Million in Kentucky Power Fuel Cost…

in General News For All Sites by Andrew Melnykovych
January 24, 2015 1594

Happenings, Meetings Listed for Hopkins County

in Hopkins News by Amber Averitt, SurfKY News
January 25, 2015 1593

UPDATE: Two Die, Two Injured in Two-Vehicle…

in Local (Owensboro) Top News by Dispatcher Dustin Staves
January 24, 2015 1583

Kentucky 2014 Highway Fatality Figures Released

in General News For All Sites by Keith Todd
January 24, 2015 1485

Keeping the Faith - 'What It's Good For'

in General News For All Sites by Ronnie McBrayer
January 24, 2015 1414

Busting the Myths of Leadership

in General News For All Sites by David Taylor
January 24, 2015 1287

Hooked on Science - Feather Balance

in General News For All Sites by Jason Lindsey

SurfKY News Group, Inc.
Corporate Office & Studio
1125 Nebo Rd.  •  Madisonville, KY 42431
270.452.2727 (phone)
  •  270.452.2249 (fax)

Contact a member of our staff: www.surfky.com/contact
Copyright © 2015 SurfKY News Group, Inc.  •  Terms of Use  •  Site Map

social fbsocial twsocial yt
social gpsocial flr subscribevideoitunessocial rss