Pick Your Community: | Hopkins | Muhlenberg | Daviess | Christian | Henderson | Lakes | McCracken | Webster
Davis Motor Sales banner ad
Impressions pre-reset: 420826 Clicks pre-reset: 872

Movie Review – Iron Man 3

movie night2 300KENTUCKY (5/6/13) – The following is a movie review for Iron Man 3, by Journalist/Reviewer Aaron Frasier.
 
I am a huge DC Comics fan (Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman...mostly Superman) so up until recently, I hadn’t seen many Marvel films. However, when friends told me how great the Avengers was, I decided I wanted to watch all the origin stories of those characters before seeing the film. Iron Man was one of those characters. I came to like Iron Man but he wasn’t my favorite Marvel character.
 
That aside, Iron Man 3 did very good at closing out the Iron Man trilogy. The movie brings the action level of former Iron Man films and probably more comedy. Tony Stark has all of his usual banters with other characters and there are a lot of unexpected comedic parts.
 
(Spoiler alert from here on)
 
One complaint that I have about the film is that I felt it was released at the wrong time of year. The movie takes place during Christmas time and there are a lot of references to Christmas. At the beginning of the film, Tony Stark turns on a funny Christmas song while doing something and I actually thought that was comedic and that he had picked the wrong song until I realized the time of year it was set in.
 
Though there is a good chunk of the film that features virtually no Iron Man, there is still a good story that takes place during that time with Tony Stark. Some may complain about this, as they did with the Dark Knight Rises not featuring much Batman, but I was fine with it.
 
The film features Tony in locations such as his home in Los Angeles, but he also travels to Miami as well as a small town in Tennessee. As someone from the south, it was funny seeing how Hollywood painting the south in some parts of it.
 
As far as content goes, the film did feature quite a few inappropriate comments as well as several scenes featuring women in skimpy clothing. Parents should keep this in mind when taking their children to see it.
 
The final battle in the scene was very epic. It features so many plot twists that you will be guessing the whole way.
 
There is a secret scene after the credits, as they have been doing with all Marvel movies lately; however, it is not giving a clue into another movie. It is just a comedic scene with Tony Stark. If you want to hang around and see it, do it, though several in the theater didn’t think it was worth it.
 
I heard several people in the theater say this was the best Iron Man of the series. I actually haven’t seen Iron Man 2 (though I hear it was bad), so I can’t make that judgment.
 
I would give this film 4 out of 5 stars.
 
Aaron Frasier
SurfKY News

© Copyright 2014 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission. SurfKY News encourages you to share this story by using one of the social media links below.

Posted on 2/2/14
2/6/2014 - posted
3/13 - 16
Started 11/8/2013
Started 11/8/2013
button coupons
2/6/2014 - posted
3/13 - 16
Started 11/8/2013
Started 11/8/2013
2/6/2014 - posted
3/13 - 16
Started 11/8/2013
Started 11/8/2013
button classifieds
2/6/2014 - posted
3/13 - 16
Started 11/8/2013
Started 11/8/2013

Most Read This Week

November 21, 2014 5560

Man Accused of Assaulting Coach During Basketball…

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
November 18, 2014 5178

Couple Charged for Concealing Food in Infant Car…

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Madisonville Police Department
November 17, 2014 4652

Police Charge Woman for Drug Possession After…

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Madisonville Police Department
November 17, 2014 3937

Bremen Woman Ejected From Vehicle During Kentucky…

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Trooper S.C. Recke
November 19, 2014 3549

Two Killed When Vehicle Becomes Airborne, Strikes…

in Local (Owensboro) Top News by Daviess County Sheriff's Office
November 21, 2014 3371

Crashing Dump Trucks in Work Zone Cause Pennyrile…

in Top News For All Sites Touching Hopkins by Trooper Stu Recke
November 18, 2014 3279

Area Talent to Film Music Video at Merle Travis…

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Paul McRee, SurfKY News
November 19, 2014 3170

Is Bankruptcy Your Best Option?

in General News For All Sites by SurfKY News
November 19, 2014 3078

Three Injured in Two-Vehicle Collision on South…

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Gwen Smith
November 22, 2014 3025

One Injured in Two Vehicle Collion in Greenville

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Miria Thomas

Stories Trending Today

November 22, 2014 3025

One Injured in Two Vehicle Collion in Greenville

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Miria Thomas
November 21, 2014 1672

KSP Announces 'Cram the Cruiser' to Feed the…

in Top News For All Sites Touching Hopkins by Stu Recke
November 22, 2014 1610

Greenville Representatives Taking Part in Austin,…

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Paul McRee, SurfKY News
November 22, 2014 1555

SAR Planning 'Triple' Revolutionary War Patriot…

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Geoff Baggett
November 21, 2014 1544

Kentucky Employers to Save About $112 million

in General News For All Sites by Cathy Lindsey
November 22, 2014 1469

Pennyrile Dulcimer Players Demonstrate Unique…

in Top News For All Sites by Ron Sanders
November 22, 2014 1445

Carve a Turkey Like a Pro

in General News For All Sites by SurfKY News
November 22, 2014 1434

Prevent Fires at Home This Winter

in General News For All Sites by SurfKY News
November 22, 2014 1387

Happenings and Meetings - Hopkins County

in Hopkins News by Amber Averitt, SurfKY News
November 22, 2014 1317

P'Pool Among Top Performing Child Support…

in Hopkins News by Cabinet for Health and Family Services

SurfKY News Group, Inc.
Corporate Office & Studio
1125 Nebo Rd.  •  Madisonville, KY 42431
270.452.2727 (phone)
  •  270.452.2249 (fax)


Contact a member of our staff: www.surfky.com/contact
Copyright © 2014 SurfKY News Group, Inc.  •  Terms of Use  •  Site Map

social fbsocial twsocial yt
social gpsocial flrsocial rss