Monday, January 26, 2015
Davis Motor Sales banner ad
Posted on 2/2/14

movie night2 300KENTUCKY (5/6/13) – The following is a movie review for Iron Man 3, by Journalist/Reviewer Aaron Frasier.
 
I am a huge DC Comics fan (Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman...mostly Superman) so up until recently, I hadn’t seen many Marvel films. However, when friends told me how great the Avengers was, I decided I wanted to watch all the origin stories of those characters before seeing the film. Iron Man was one of those characters. I came to like Iron Man but he wasn’t my favorite Marvel character.
 
That aside, Iron Man 3 did very good at closing out the Iron Man trilogy. The movie brings the action level of former Iron Man films and probably more comedy. Tony Stark has all of his usual banters with other characters and there are a lot of unexpected comedic parts.
 
(Spoiler alert from here on)
 
One complaint that I have about the film is that I felt it was released at the wrong time of year. The movie takes place during Christmas time and there are a lot of references to Christmas. At the beginning of the film, Tony Stark turns on a funny Christmas song while doing something and I actually thought that was comedic and that he had picked the wrong song until I realized the time of year it was set in.
 
Though there is a good chunk of the film that features virtually no Iron Man, there is still a good story that takes place during that time with Tony Stark. Some may complain about this, as they did with the Dark Knight Rises not featuring much Batman, but I was fine with it.
 
The film features Tony in locations such as his home in Los Angeles, but he also travels to Miami as well as a small town in Tennessee. As someone from the south, it was funny seeing how Hollywood painting the south in some parts of it.
 
As far as content goes, the film did feature quite a few inappropriate comments as well as several scenes featuring women in skimpy clothing. Parents should keep this in mind when taking their children to see it.
 
The final battle in the scene was very epic. It features so many plot twists that you will be guessing the whole way.
 
There is a secret scene after the credits, as they have been doing with all Marvel movies lately; however, it is not giving a clue into another movie. It is just a comedic scene with Tony Stark. If you want to hang around and see it, do it, though several in the theater didn’t think it was worth it.
 
I heard several people in the theater say this was the best Iron Man of the series. I actually haven’t seen Iron Man 2 (though I hear it was bad), so I can’t make that judgment.
 
I would give this film 4 out of 5 stars.
 
Aaron Frasier
SurfKY News

© Copyright 2015 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission. SurfKY News encourages you to share this story by using one of the social media links below.

2/6/2014 - posted
3/13 - 16
Started 11/8/2013
Started 11/8/2013
2/6/2014 - posted
3/13 - 16
Started 11/8/2013
Started 11/8/2013

Most Read This Week

January 23, 2015 8189

Local Church's Faith Restored; 71 Souls Saved…

in Video by Gary Gates, SurfKY News
January 20, 2015 7121

Bridal, Prom, Pageant Expo Planned for February…

in Hopkins News by Dana Brown
January 22, 2015 6992

Nortonville Man Accused of Selling Drugs near…

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Madisonville Police Department/Hopkins County Jail
January 21, 2015 5715

KYDOT Pre-Treating Roads Thursday in Antipation…

in Top News For All Sites by Keith Todd
January 23, 2015 5562

Parents Face Charges after Marijuana Joint Falls…

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Madisonville Police Department/Hopkins County Jail
January 22, 2015 5270

MCEA Head: Further School Mergers Might Ease…

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by Paul McRee, SurfKY News
January 21, 2015 4792

Man Arrested after Allegedly Nodding off on Baby…

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Madisonville Police Department/Hopkins County Jail
January 23, 2015 4369

Nortonville Woman Charged for Meth Possession

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Hopkins County Sheriff's Office/Hopkins County Detention Center

Most Read This Month

January 08, 2015 20454

Woman Claiming to be 'Lady Gaga' Tours Town in…

in Top News For All Sites by Madisonville Police Department
January 15, 2015 20164

UPDATE: Fatality Victim's Name Officially Released

in Top News For All Sites by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News

Stories Trending Today

January 25, 2015 3926

Dean’s List Announced

in Top News For All Sites Touching Hopkins by Joyce Riggs
January 25, 2015 2171

UPDATE: Two Die, Two Injured in Two-Vehicle…

in Local (Owensboro) Top News by Dispatcher Dustin Staves
January 25, 2015 1637

Juvenile Hit by Vehicle at McDonald's

in Local (Muhlenberg) Top News by GPD Officer Wes Miller
January 26, 2015 1428

Man Goes to Jail after Allegedly Attacking Family

in Local (Hopkins) Top News by Madisonville Police Department/Hopkins County Jail
January 25, 2015 1385

Kynect Enrollment Climbs as Countdown to Feb. 15…

in General News For All Sites by Office of the Governor
January 25, 2015 1279

Market Commentary - Jan. 25, 2015

in Top News For All Sites by Randall L. Franklin
January 25, 2015 1150

Dave Says - Jan. 25, 2015

in General News For All Sites by Dave Ramsey
January 25, 2015 1141

March 20-22 Women's Retreat: 'Holiness in Family…

in Owensboro News by Jennifer Kaminski
January 25, 2015 1007

Legislator's Log - Week of Jan. 25, 2015

in General News For All Sites by Brent Yonts
January 25, 2015 993

Outdoor Truths - Jan. 25, 2015

in General News For All Sites by Gary Miller
January 26, 2015 695

Hopkins County Sheriff's Reports Released

in General News For All Sites by Hopkins County Sheriff's Office
January 26, 2015 558

Henderson County Traffic Advisory

in Local (Henderson) Top News by Keith Todd