Pick Your Community: | Hopkins | Muhlenberg | Daviess | Christian | Fayette | Henderson | Lakes | McCracken | Warren | Webster
Davis Motor Sales banner ad

Movie Review – Iron Man 3

movie night2 300KENTUCKY (5/6/13) – The following is a movie review for Iron Man 3, by Journalist/Reviewer Aaron Frasier.
 
I am a huge DC Comics fan (Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman...mostly Superman) so up until recently, I hadn’t seen many Marvel films. However, when friends told me how great the Avengers was, I decided I wanted to watch all the origin stories of those characters before seeing the film. Iron Man was one of those characters. I came to like Iron Man but he wasn’t my favorite Marvel character.
 
That aside, Iron Man 3 did very good at closing out the Iron Man trilogy. The movie brings the action level of former Iron Man films and probably more comedy. Tony Stark has all of his usual banters with other characters and there are a lot of unexpected comedic parts.
 
(Spoiler alert from here on)
 
One complaint that I have about the film is that I felt it was released at the wrong time of year. The movie takes place during Christmas time and there are a lot of references to Christmas. At the beginning of the film, Tony Stark turns on a funny Christmas song while doing something and I actually thought that was comedic and that he had picked the wrong song until I realized the time of year it was set in.
 
Though there is a good chunk of the film that features virtually no Iron Man, there is still a good story that takes place during that time with Tony Stark. Some may complain about this, as they did with the Dark Knight Rises not featuring much Batman, but I was fine with it.
 
The film features Tony in locations such as his home in Los Angeles, but he also travels to Miami as well as a small town in Tennessee. As someone from the south, it was funny seeing how Hollywood painting the south in some parts of it.
 
As far as content goes, the film did feature quite a few inappropriate comments as well as several scenes featuring women in skimpy clothing. Parents should keep this in mind when taking their children to see it.
 
The final battle in the scene was very epic. It features so many plot twists that you will be guessing the whole way.
 
There is a secret scene after the credits, as they have been doing with all Marvel movies lately; however, it is not giving a clue into another movie. It is just a comedic scene with Tony Stark. If you want to hang around and see it, do it, though several in the theater didn’t think it was worth it.
 
I heard several people in the theater say this was the best Iron Man of the series. I actually haven’t seen Iron Man 2 (though I hear it was bad), so I can’t make that judgment.
 
I would give this film 4 out of 5 stars.
 
Aaron Frasier
SurfKY News

© Copyright 2014 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission. SurfKY News encourages you to share this story by using one of the social media links below.

Posted on 2/2/14
Genovese - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=35646&sub= Lewis - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=bracken_lewis Holt - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=drholt Napier - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=dr.napier_page Newman - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=50353
Genovese - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=35646&sub= Lewis - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=bracken_lewis Holt - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=drholt Napier - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=dr.napier_page Newman - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=50353
3/12 - 718 switched from reg 2 to hopkins only
Posted on 1/31/2014
2/6/2014 - posted
3/13 - 16
447 on Feb 15th (Val ad ended) switched to kid books
2/18 - 553 clicks
CHANGED TO SIMPLE AD ON 2/19 619 HITS
Genovese - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=35646&sub= Lewis - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=bracken_lewis Holt - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=drholt Napier - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=dr.napier_page Newman - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=50353
Genovese - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=35646&sub= Lewis - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=bracken_lewis Holt - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=drholt Napier - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=dr.napier_page Newman - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=50353
3/12 - 718 switched from reg 2 to hopkins only
Posted on 1/31/2014
2/6/2014 - posted
3/13 - 16
447 on Feb 15th (Val ad ended) switched to kid books
2/18 - 553 clicks
CHANGED TO SIMPLE AD ON 2/19 619 HITS
Genovese - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=35646&sub= Lewis - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=bracken_lewis Holt - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=drholt Napier - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=dr.napier_page Newman - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=50353
Genovese - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=35646&sub= Lewis - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=bracken_lewis Holt - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=drholt Napier - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=dr.napier_page Newman - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=50353
3/12 - 718 switched from reg 2 to hopkins only
Posted on 1/31/2014
2/6/2014 - posted
3/13 - 16
447 on Feb 15th (Val ad ended) switched to kid books
2/18 - 553 clicks
CHANGED TO SIMPLE AD ON 2/19 619 HITS
Genovese - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=35646&sub= Lewis - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=bracken_lewis Holt - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=drholt Napier - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=dr.napier_page Newman - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=50353
Genovese - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=35646&sub= Lewis - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=bracken_lewis Holt - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=drholt Napier - http://www.mchky.org/getpage.php?name=dr.napier_page Newman - http://www.mchky.org/staff/bio.php?doc_id=50353
3/12 - 718 switched from reg 2 to hopkins only
Posted on 1/31/2014
2/6/2014 - posted
3/13 - 16
447 on Feb 15th (Val ad ended) switched to kid books
2/18 - 553 clicks
CHANGED TO SIMPLE AD ON 2/19 619 HITS

Most Read This Week (Site-Wide)

April 22, 2014 10444

18 EPA Earth Day Events Take Action on…

in News by EPA
April 23, 2014 5927

Dawson Springs Letter Carrier Sentenced…

in Top Stories by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
April 24, 2014 5729

Meet The Hopkins County Magistrate…

in News by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
April 22, 2014 4835

Three Juveniles Charged in Connection…

in Top Stories by Paul McRee, SurfKY News Reporter
April 21, 2014 4254

Fire Destroys Old Tobacco Building in…

in Top Stories by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director

Most Read Stories from Hopkins County

April 22, 2014 2824

Madisonville Woman Charged with Internet…

in Top Stories by Christopher Rogers
April 24, 2014 2540

UPDATE: Four Injured in North Main…

in Top Stories by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
April 23, 2014 1680

MPD Detectives Investigate Hanson…

in Top Stories by Madisonville Police Department
April 24, 2014 1070

Two Injured in Three Vehicle Collision…

in Top Stories by Martha Clark
April 21, 2014 647

Hanson Student Among 25 Receiving…

in Top Stories by Abbie Darst

Most Read Stories from Owensboro

April 21, 2014 4166

'Heath & Molly' Benefit Concert…

in Top Stories by Paul McRee, SurfKY News Reporter
April 21, 2014 2192

Owensboro Chamber Plans First ‘Lunch…

in News by Dennis Beard, SurfKY News
April 22, 2014 1381

DCPS Among Top 100 Nationally for Finance…

in News by Lora Wimsatt
April 22, 2014 1149

New Hwy. 54 Traffic Light to Go Into…

in News by Keith Todd
April 22, 2014 390

Owensboro Museum of Fine Art Plans Exhibit

in Top Stories by Mary Hood

Most Read Stories from Muhlenberg County

April 22, 2014 4835

Three Juveniles Charged in Connection…

in Top Stories by Paul McRee, SurfKY News Reporter
April 21, 2014 4254

Fire Destroys Old Tobacco Building in…

in Top Stories by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
April 21, 2014 2405

One Injured in Rosewood Wreck

in Top Stories by Trooper Stu Recke
April 22, 2014 2011

Muhlenberg Last Day of School

in Top Stories by Paul McRee, SurfKY News Reporter
April 22, 2014 1631

Parsons Named Student of the Month

in Top Stories by Joyce Riggs

SurfKY News Group, Inc. Central Office & Printing Division
1125 Nebo Rd.  •  Madisonville, KY 42431  •  270.452.2249 (fax)
Main Number: 270.452.2727 (phone)  •  Printing Division Direct Line: 270.821.8600 (phone)

SurfKY Owensboro News Bureau
920 Frederica St. / Suite 210  •  Owensboro, KY 42301  •  270.683-8060 (phone)


Contact a member of our staff: www.surfky.com/contact
Copyright © 2014 SurfKY News Group, Inc.  •  Terms of Use  •  Site Map

social 06social 21social 22social 04social 03