khsaa1 300LEXINGTON, Ky. (5/14/18) — The second annual Midway University/KHSAA Female Student-Athlete of the Year program culminated on the campus of Midway University on Monday as Russell High School’s Sara Hieneman (softball) was named the overall winner for 2017-18. Beginning in May of 2017 with the State Bass Fishing Championship, Midway University presented a Female Student-Athlete of the Year award at each of the KHSAA’s 15 girls’ state championship events, with an overall winner selected following the final championship of the timeframe (2018 State Archery).

The Midway University/KHSAA Female Student-Athlete of the Year award is based upon overall athletic performance (60 percent), academic achievement (20 percent) and community service (20 percent). Students must possess an overall grade point average of 3.0 or better to qualify, and must be academically eligible during the season in which they are nominated. School administrators, coaches and athletic directors nominate student-athletes online at, and the nominees are voted upon by a closed panel consisting of representatives from Midway University.

2017-18 Award Winners (May, 2017 through April, 2018)
2017 Bass Fishing – Morgan Miracle (Garrard County)
2017 Tennis – Abby Birk (Sacred Heart)
2017 Track & Field (1A) – Sarah McDowell (Murray)
2017 Track & Field (2A) – Michaela Reinhart (Lexington Catholic)
2017 Track & Field (3A) – Emma Kuntz (DuPont Manual)
2017 Softball – Sara Hieneman (Russell) *
2017 Golf – Bailey Hubbard (Clay County)
2017 Field Hockey – Samantha Minrath (Christian Academy-Lou.)
2017 Cross Country (1A) – Kinsey Forgey (Leslie County)
2017 Cross Country (3A) – Abby Hill (Madison Central)
2017 Soccer – Hunter Clark (Simon Kenton)
2017 Volleyball – Sydney Parmelee (Pulaski County)
2017 Competitive Cheer – Alexis Stanley (Pikeville)
2017 Dance – Avery Knochel (Breckinridge County)
2018 Bowling – Morgan Stone (Daviess County)
2018 Swimming & Diving – Tonner DeBeer (Sacred Heart)
2018 Basketball – Sophia Akin (LaRue County)
2018 Archery – Kaylen Smith (Trigg County)

*overall winner for 2017-18

Sacred Heart’s Brooke Forde (swimming and diving) was named the overall award winner in the program’s inaugural year in 2017.



SurfKY News Sports

sitelogosm© Copyright 2008 - 2018 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission.

Click here to subscribe to receive daily updates by email.


Most Read This Month

Aug 16, 2018 13505

Ky. Court of Appeals Upholds Hopkins Ruling on Sheriff Candidate

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News

Weather brought to you by

°F | °C
Mostly Clear
Humidity: 92%
Scattered Thunderstorms
73 | 82
22 | 27
70 | 86
21 | 30
72 | 81
22 | 27
70 | 80
21 | 26

Market Report

Market Report brought to you by