dcps kids first colorDAVIESS COUNTY, Ky. (8/16/18) — The Daviess County Public Schools district announced today that 147 students have been recognized by the College Board for their exceptional achievements on the college-level AP Exams. Students take AP Exams in May after completing challenging college-level courses at their high schools. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement, based on the number of courses and exams.
Most of the nation’s four-year colleges and universities award credit, advanced placement, or both, based on successful performances on the AP Exams. More than 1,400 institutions award a full year’s credit to students presenting a sufficient number of qualifying grades.
High school administrative and instruction teams have worked diligently to encourage more students to participate in Advanced Placement courses. The DCPS district has seen tremendous growth in enrollment in AP classes over the past few years.
Seven students have earned recognition as National AP Scholars, an elite honor awarded to students in the United States who receive an average score of at least 4 on all AP Exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams.

Those students are Isaac N. Mayes, a member of the Apollo High School class of 2018; and Daviess County High School graduates Kobe Burns, Sarah Caldbeck, William Caldbeck, Elijah Cooper (class of 2018) and current seniors (class of 2019) Alec Phelps and Gabija Ziemtye.
The prestigious Scholar with Distinction Award was earned by 31 DCPS students. This award is given to students who receive an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of those exams.

Honorees representing Apollo High School are graduates (class of 2018) Parker Collignon, Isaac Mayes, McKensie Millay and Derek Osborne; and current seniors (class of 2019) Gracelyn Bush, Christopher Cox, Trevor Payne, Nathan Roberts, Talon Safreed and Molly Ward.

Representing Daviess County High School as Scholars with Distinction are 2018 graduates Lily Anderson, Noah Baker, Zacary Baker, William Boultinghouse, Kobe Burns, Sarah Caldbeck, William Caldbeck, Elijah Cooper, Maya Givens, Bailey Hume, Carrie Neville, Mndy Nguyen, Kathryn Wolfe and Lucas Zoglmann; and seniors (class of 2019) Nace Mattingly, Kaylee Meador, Benjamin Peters, Alec Phelps, Porter Watkins, Austin White and Gabija Ziemyte.

AP Scholar with Honor Awards were presented to 28 Apollo and Daviess County High School students, who earned an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams.

Apollo High School honorees are graduates Paris Cameron and Olivia Clements (class of 2018); seniors Adam Dehart, Brooklyn Knight, Caroline Shutt, Emily Yewell and John Zuberer (class of 2019); and juniors Andrew Alban and Connor Satterly (class of 2020).

Representing Daviess County High School as AP Scholars with Honor award winners are graduates Samuel Allen, Alexis Beyke, Lucas Georges, Ragan Howard, Keagan Settle and Grace Thacker (class of 2018); seniors Allison Boarman, Emma Brasher, Jordan Carr, Garrett Mayfield, Devin Melton, Robert Nalley, Ishika Patel, William Pippin, Christopher Salamah, Ivy Stites and Reagan Watkins (class of 2019); and juniors Simon Hanson and Christian Vincent (class of 2020).

Eighty-one DCPS students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Examinations, with grades of 3 or higher.

This honor was earned by AHS graduates Elliott Campbell, Patrick Clapacs, Hannah Cockerell, Gatlin Humphrey, Miranda McCormick, Oliver Melton, Seth Parker, Jessica Rice, Christopher Robertson, Jason Sexton and Jacob Thomas (class of 2018); seniors Dalton Barnett, Haley Bond, Lindsey Hargitt, Marcus Hayden, Jacob Jones, Samantha Klee, William Leigh, Isaac Malott, Bobby Nguyen, Kyle Satterfield, James Scrivner, Noah Stewart, Andrew Van Meter (class of 2019); and juniors Ryan Gatton, Daniel Mays, Lynzy Schwartz and Luke Wathen (class of 2020).

DCHS students earning AP Scholar Awards are graduates Railey Abell, Ashlyn Benton, Sarandan Brooks-Green, Rachel Burch, Tristan Burschkoetter, James Carlisle, Lexie Cargo, Lisa Cargo, Maris Dees, Nicholas Driskill, Anna Gargus, Madeline Gregory, Serena Hall, Lee Head, Michael Hoover, Elliot Johnson, Kelsey Legg, Mitchell Logan, Phagan Marksberry, Rebekah O’Bryan, Aman Singh, Brandon Smith, Ian Taylor, Nicolas Warder, Ethan Warren, Tyler Wathen, David Williams and Amie Woolard (class of 2018); seniors Charlotte Brown, McKenzi Clark, Brandon Edge, Bryan Ford, Michael Haynes, Allison Howard, Lindsey McLellan, Logan Mills, Keya Patel, Sarah Pfiel, Abey Pike, Sydney Speed and Gabriella Winstead (class of 2019); and juniors Ryan Beckwith, Andrew Birkhead, Alex Filbeck, William Holland, Logan Huskinson, Frederik Mendoza-Ulken, Hunter Nelson, Noah Owen, Holly Payne, Jay Powers, Lucas Ruckdeschel and Mason Thompson (class of 2020).

SurfKY News
Information by Lora Wimsatt

sitelogosm© Copyright 2008 - 2018 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission.

Click here to subscribe to receive daily updates by email.

Most Read This Week...

Sep 18, 2018 14622

Madisonville City Council Debates Public Street Closure for LGBT Event

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News
Sep 18, 2018 10052

County Approves New Tax Rate

by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
Sep 18, 2018 8275

Teens Injured after Vehicle Accident Near Mortons Gap

by Ladonna Kay Lee
Sep 17, 2018 7684

Muhlenberg Grand Jury Indictments Handed Down

by SurfKY News
Sep 18, 2018 7543

Ohio County Real Estate Transfers Listed - Sept. 18

by Janice Stone
Sep 19, 2018 7148

Postal Truck Strikes Home in Thornridge Subdivision

by Nick Risley
Sep 18, 2018 7079

County Attorney: Graham School Road Deed to be Reversed

by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
Sep 18, 2018 6492

Arrest Made in Alleged Area Burglaries

by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director
Sep 16, 2018 6391

UPDATE: Ky. 181S Accident Victim Uninjured

by Paul Moore
Sep 19, 2018 5292

Madisonville Man Charged with Cutting Victim with Razor Knife

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News
Sep 21, 2018 4478

2 Face Drug Charges after Police Execute Search Warrant

by Rita Dukes Smith, SurfKY News Director

Most Read This Month

Sep 10, 2018 14667

Fight in Rural King Results in Madisonville Man's Arrest

by Doreen Dennis, SurfKY News

Weather brought to you by

°F | °C
Partly Cloudy
Humidity: 92%
Mostly Sunny
74 | 95
23 | 35
Scattered Showers
62 | 72
16 | 22
Scattered Thunderstorms
60 | 73
15 | 22
Scattered Thunderstorms
66 | 74
18 | 23


Stories Trending Today

hickory hollow
Sep 21, 2018 2360

Person Struck by Train in Grapevine Area

by SurfKY News

Market Report

Market Report brought to you by