primary election 300HOPKINS COUNTY, Ky. (5/22/18) — Republican candidate Kevin Cotton has unseated two-term incumbent Madisonville Mayor David Jackson by less than 100 votes in today’s Primary Election.

Jackson received 582 votes compared to Cotton’s 672 after all the results were turned into the Kentucky State Board of Elections for Hopkins County.

Cotton, a restaurant owner, will face Democrat David C. Oakley in the November General Election. Oakley was unopposed in today’s Primary.

“We are humbled that the Republican voters came out and voted for us,” Cotton said this evening. “We’re excited to see where we will go in the future. Mayor Jackson has done a great job and left a block in the community by way of accounting, and we’ll build on that. We couldn’t have done it without our team —  our team has been amazing."

Cotton said he plans to continue his campaign that includes his pop up listening tours and looks forward to hearing from the community through November.

Several city residents expressed opposition to the city’s restaurant tax ordinance in addition to the loss of Walmart, which relocated to the city of Hanson a couple years ago after the store could not find a desired location to construct a new super center.

It was a close race between Democrat incumbent Circuit Court Clerk Karen McKnight and opponent Tanya Michelle Bowman.

Bowman received 2,628 votes for the win over McKnight, with 2,484.

Democrat incumbent Mike Lewis defeated opponent Lydon Logan for county jailer. Lewis collected 2,628 votes, compared to Logan’s 2,432. Lewis faces Republican candidate Nick Bailey in November's race.

In another Republican Primary race for 4th District magistrate, Ronnie Noel took the win with 221 votes. Opponents John T. Stachurski received 136, while Scott K. Stevenson fetched 110 votes.

Noel will face 4th District Democratic magistrate winner Carroll Coffman, who received 380 votes for the party’s win among Donald Rhodes with 69 votes, Steve Fowler with 146, Steven Cox with 102 and Jeff Browing’s 247.

Democrat Charlie Beshears will likely keep his 6th District magistrate seat after receiving 414 votes over opponent Brien Terry, who received 261. No one has filed as a certain Independent for that district as of today.

Democrat Kim Hudson raked in 365 votes to beat opponent David B. Simms with 262 in the 5th District magistrate race. She faces Independent incumbent Billy N. Parrish in the November General Election.

Republican Christopher Bean beat Kelly George Potter by nine votes to win the 6th District constable race.

Democrat Brenda A. Anderson received 305 votes over Kerry L. Burton’s 246 to win the 7th District constable Primary.

In the 1st Congressional District race for U.S. Representative, Paul Walker received 2,790 votes in Hopkins County, compared to Alonzo Pennington’s 1,842. Walker skunked Pennington 51,094 to 17,398 in the state race. Walker will face Republican incumbent James Comer in the fall.

Voter turnout was listed at a mere 19.20 percent in Hopkins County.

Doreen Dennis
SurfKY News Reporter
Region 2

sitelogosm© Copyright 2008 - 2018 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission.

Click here to subscribe to receive daily updates by email.

Most Read This Week...

Most Read This Month



Madisonville, KY


Humidity: 22%

Wind: 6.84 m/h

  • 26 Mar 2019

    Sunny 47°F 36°F

  • 27 Mar 2019

    Sunny 61°F 31°F

Weather brought to you by

Market Report brought to you by

Market Report

Stories Trending Today