Brian WelchHOPKINS COUNTY, Ky. (11/13/19) — The Association for Career and Technical Education selected a Hopkins County Schools educator to participate in a National Leadership Fellowship Program that provides teachers with an opportunity to enhance leadership skills and involvement in professional organizations.

Madisonville North Hopkins High School agriculture teacher Brian Welch is among 24 from across the country selected for the upcoming program.


The fellowship identifies, trains, and motivates a cadre of leaders who will continue to advance efforts which support an educated, prepared, adaptable and competitive workforce, according to an ACTE press release.

The Fellowship Program is a one-year commitment Jan.1-Dec. 31, 2020. Each of ACTE’s five regions and the majority of divisions are represented in the program. In addition to more experienced educators, this year’s fellowship class again includes a cohort of new professionals, geared towards those with 2-5 years of CTE experience. The 2020 class of fellows is listed below, with an asterisk (*) denoting the cohort of new professionals.

Michael Grubbs*—Region I—Towson, MD
Kyla Korytoski—Region I—West Springfield, MA
Ann Rush—Region I Experienced—Fairfield Township, OH
Lisa Martino—Region II—Orlando, FL
Brian Welch*—Region II—Madisonville, KY
Sarah Shanley*—Region III—White Bear Lake, MN
Joseph Sieczkowski—Region III Experienced—Palos Hills, IL
Laura VanWaardhuizen—Region III—Ames, IA
Brent Casey—Region IV—Choctaw, OK
Kristal Sack*—Region IV—Tulsa, OK
Ashley Treat*—Region IV—Dallas, TX
Kaiya Burgess*—Region V—Eatonville, WA
Charles Pearl*—Region V—Aurora, CO
Joni Simpson—Region V—Fairbanks, AK
Martin Hanley—Administration Division—Eolia, MO
Julie Pack—Administration Division—Durham, NC
Jerrod Lundry—Agricultural Education Division—Enid, OK
Ulla Carr—Business Education Division—Knoxville, TN
Fran Bromley—Norwood- Engineering & Technology Education Division—Las Vegas, NV
Heather Ballou—Guidance & Career Development Education Division—Lawton, OK
Maggie Cox—Health Science Education Division—Las Vegas, NV
Amber Gallup Rodriguez—Postsecondary, Adult & Career Education Division—Santa Fe, NM
Dana King—Trade & Industrial Education Division—Normal, IL
Denise Ojeda—Trade & Industrial Education Division—Albuquerque, NM
Mark Wilson—OK PACE—Drumright, OK
The fellows are required to complete several activities throughout the year, including conducting an in-person visit with a local, state and federal legislator, writing blog posts, attending at least two required events and submitting a final summary of their accomplishments to ACTE’s Board of Directors.

Cindy Stover will serve as the Fellowship Coordinator through 2021. She currently serves as the executive director of Illinois ACTE, and previously served as the ACTE Region III Vice President. She has extensive CTE experience, including leading different CTE centers.

SurfKY News

sitelogosm© Copyright 2008 - 2019 SurfKY News Group, Inc. All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, or rewritten without permission.

Click here to subscribe to receive daily updates by email.

Most Read This Week...

Most Read This Month

Mostly Cloudy


Hopkins, KY

Mostly Cloudy

Humidity: 97%

Wind: 9.32 m/h

  • 15 Dec 2019

    Thunderstorms 71°F 43°F

  • 16 Dec 2019

    Thunderstorms 52°F 36°F

Weather brought to you by

Market Report brought to you by

Market Report

Stories Trending Today